byteorder(3) - NetBSD Manual Pages

Command: Section: Arch: Collection:  
BYTEORDER(3)            NetBSD Library Functions Manual           BYTEORDER(3)

htonl, htons, ntohl, ntohs -- convert values between host and network byte order
Standard C Library (libc, -lc)
#include <arpa/inet.h> uint32_t htonl(uint32_t host32); uint16_t htons(uint16_t host16); uint32_t ntohl(uint32_t net32); uint16_t ntohs(uint16_t net16);
These routines convert 16 and 32 bit quantities between network byte order and host byte order. On machines which have a byte order which is the same as the network order, these routines are defined as macros that expand to the value of their argument. These routines are most often used in conjunction with Internet addresses and ports as returned by gethostbyname(3) and getservent(3).
gethostbyname(3), getservent(3)
The htonl(), htons(), ntohl(), and ntohs() functions conform to IEEE Std 1003.1-2001 (``POSIX.1''). Their use of the fixed-width integer types uint16_t and uint32_t first appeared in X/Open Networking Services Issue 5 (``XNS5'').
The byteorder functions appeared in 4.2BSD.
The `l' and `s' suffixes in the names are not meaningful in machines where long integers are not 32 bits. NetBSD 4.0 June 10, 2004 NetBSD 4.0
Powered by man-cgi (2024-03-20). Maintained for NetBSD by Kimmo Suominen. Based on man-cgi by Panagiotis Christias.